Democrats and partners take 20 out of 29 seats in by-elections


Ruling Democrat Party and its coalition partners won 20 out of 29 parliamentary seats in the by-election in 22 provinces throughout Thailand yesterday.

Democrat Party candidates won a total of seven seats, one each in Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom Province, Ratchaburi Province, Lamphun Province, Samut Prakarn Province, Saraburi Province and Singburi Province. Its partners Chart Thai Pattana Party got ten seats while Puea Pandin Party  three seats.

Meanwhile, two opposition parties, Puea Thai Party and Pracharaj Party, won five and four seats respectively.

However, one of the successful candidate of Pracharaj Party was supported by the Friends of Newin Group, comprising of the House representatives from Northeastern provinces who had withdrawn their support of ex-prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra and turned to the Democrats in a bid to jointly form the new government and eventually elect Abhisit Vejjajiva as the premier.

Therefore, the government’s majority has now increased to 266 from 245 while the number of opposition MPs becomes 206 from 195.

Prime Minister Abhisit, after learning of the unofficial results of the by-election, thanked voters for giving the Democrat party and its coalition parties their trust which has helped strengthened the stability of his coalition government.

However, the premier said the increase in the number of parliamentary seats would not affect the allocation of cabinet portfolios among the coalition partners.